Architecture- a travel theme (Pont du Gard)

Architecture
1. the art or practice of designing and constructing buildings.
• the style in which a building is designed and constructed, especially with regard to a specific period, place, or culture

Inspired by Ailsa’s travel theme: http://wheresmybackpack.com/2013/08/09/travel-theme-architecture/

Pont du Gard near Nimes in Provence, France. An amazing piece of historical engineering and architecture.

For more details see http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pont_du_Gard

4 responses to “Architecture- a travel theme (Pont du Gard)

  1. Now I chose a ‘bridge’ too and as I was posting thought about the Pont because it was one of the very first places I ever went in Provence mumble mumble years ago.
    They sure knew how to move water.

  2. Thank you. Yes the Pont is amazing. I went back there at dusk on the same day and enjoyed the impressive structure almost in complete solitude- that was humbling. Regards Peet

  3. Great shots of the good old PDG (as we referred to it in my family). I loved this place before they modernised the site, like Mrs C I went mumble, mumble, years ago. And crawled across the top (whilst the French strolled over), 200 feet above the river below!!

Leave a comment